Delaware County DUI Defense Team
Have you been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other controlled substances? In Delaware County and the state of Pennsylvania, the penalties for DUI/DWI can be costly. Not only can charges carry hefty financial repercussions, but they could also bring a loss of driving privileges or even jail time. There are also personal and social impacts of a DUI. The loss of driving privileges can affect your employment status. It can prevent you from attending school. It can drive a wedge in your family and be detrimental to the people you love. A DUI is not something you want on your record and your fight against your charges should be taken very seriously.
What happens when you are charged with DUI in Pennsylvania?
The consequences of a DUI depend on your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC), whether or not you gave blood or provided a chemical breath sample, and prior offenses. The legal limit in Pennsylvania was lowered from .10 to .08 in September 2003. If your BAC is .10 to .159% you may face a $5,000 fine, 12-month license suspension, or even 6 months in prison.
If you have received multiple DUI offenses, the costs can be even greater. Depending on your BAC, a second offense can result in a $10,000 fine, ignition interlock, and 5 years in prison.
Is a DUI Arrest a Conviction?
No. Just because you were arrested DUI does not mean that you have been convicted of DUI. Overzealous police officers have been known to unlawfully stop and search vehicles. The equipment police officers use to test your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) may malfunction or be used improperly. The chemical testing process for drugs or controlled substances may be tainted. As your dedicated defense team, it is our job to scrutinize the state’s evidence.
Will my DUI arrest or conviction show on my record?
Yes, if you are arrested for or convicted of DUI it will show up on your record. However, if you are a first-time offender, you may be eligible for a diversionary program called Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) which allows you to avoid a conviction. The arrest record will also be expunged after completion of the program. We can help guide you through this process.
See our Frequently Asked Questions page for more information about drunk driving charges in Pennsylvania.
Our Media, PA DUI Lawyers will help you defend your rights
To successfully challenge a DUI/DWI charge, you must understand your rights and have an experienced legal team on your side. After working in the prosecutor’s office, our team knows how the prosecution thinks and pleads their case. We know their playbook. Whether you have been charged with your first DUI, second DUI, Drugged Driving, or a DUI Accident, you can be looking at fines, loss of your license, or jail time. Call 610-590-5092 to set up a time to discuss your DUI charge. You can also connect with our team using our website contact email form. We represent people in Media, Delaware County, and throughout the Philadelphia area.