What Would You Like To Know About DUI?
Facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI) can seem overwhelming, particularly because the legal system is so complex. At Bauer, Scanlon, & Wigginton L.L.C., our team has more than 25 collective years of experience in the practice of criminal law. With a former public defender and a former prosecutor on our staff, we have an in-depth understanding of Pennsylvania’s DUI laws.
On this DUI FAQ page, we have answered some of our clients’ frequently asked questions about their charges.
Will I get jail time if convicted?
It is rare for first-time offenders to spend time in jail for a drunk driving charge. Repeat offenders, however, can face jail incarceration of five days to five years.
Can I fight my license suspension? Can I get a hardship license?
Unfortunately, the state of Pennsylvania does not allow hearings to appeal the suspension of your driver’s license. If you need a car to get to your job or school, you might be able to secure an occupational limited license (OLL) – also called a hardship license – which allows you limited driving privileges. To get a hardship license, you must file a petition, surrender your driver’s license and pay a $50 fee.
What are the penalties for a first-time DUI?
In Pennsylvania, your first conviction for a DUI could result in a fine of up to $300 and up to six months of probation. You could also receive penalties such as mandatory driver’s education classes or drug and alcohol treatment.
Does Pennsylvania require an ignition interlock?
In some circumstances, yes. These circumstances include:
- First-time offenders with blood alcohol levels of .10 or higher
- Repeat offenders
- Drivers who refuse blood alcohol content (BAC) testing
- Offenders unlawfully driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock device
If the court orders you to drive a vehicle with an ignition interlock device, the inconvenience of using it is well worth it in contrast to the potential penalties of secretly driving a vehicle without one.
How is DUI different for underage drivers?
Drivers under the age of 21 face heightened sentences compared to drivers who are of age. Under Pennsylvania’s zero-tolerance policy, anyone under age 21 caught with a BAC of .02 or more faces:
- 48 hours to six months in jail
- A fine of up to $5,000
- Up to one year of license suspension or installation of an ignition interlock device
A conviction can also have unofficial consequences such as difficulty enrolling in college, finding a job or finding housing.
Ask Us More Questions, Get More Answers
You do not have to face the overwhelming prospect of a DUI on your own. Instead, seek drunk driving defense from us at Bauer, Scanlon, & Wigginton L.L.C. We are happy to discuss your case and answer any more questions you have. To schedule a free 30-minute consultation, please call our office in Media at 610-756-2295 or send us an email.